vehicle registration questions are answered on this web site.
Vehicle Registration Renewals: Click HERE.
Georgia law requires that each motor vehicle owned by a resident of this state will be registered annually in the county of the owners legal residence and domicile. If the motor vehicle is primarily used in connection with an established business enterprise, then registration is required in the county where the business is located. Newly acquired vehicles or vehicles new to the state must be registered within 30 days. You can operate your newly acquired vehicle or vehicles (new to the state) for 7 days without penalties, but you must register the vehicle within 30 days. After this initial registration, the registration must be renewed upon the owner’s birthday registration period.
If a renewal notice is sent to you for a vehicle no longer owned contact this office to cancel the registration of that vehicle. You should not cancel the insurance on this motor vehicle prior to 1 day following cancellation of the registration.
Ad valorem tax is a value tax that is assessed annually and must be paid at the time of registration. Payment of ad valorem taxes is a prerequisite to receiving a tag or renewal decal. Ad valorem taxes are due each year on all vehicles including vehicles that are not operational, even if a tag or registration is not being applied for. Taxes must be paid by the last day of your registration period to avoid a 10% penalty (minimum $5). Tax amounts vary according to the vehicle make and model and the tax district in which the owner resides. Ad valorem tax receipts are distributed to the state, county, schools, and cities. These levying authorities use this revenue to fund their general operations.
Uniform tax valuations used in calculating Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) and motor vehicle ad valorem taxes are certified to county tax commissioners by the Georgia Department of Revenue. TAVT is calculated at fair market value multiplies by the annual TAVT tax rate, 7% in 2015. If you dispute the assessed value of your vehicle you may appeal the value to the Fayette County Board of Assessors at 770-305-5402.
An annual state tag fee of $20 is required for issuance of regular passenger or light duty truck license plates or renewal decals. Prestige, college, commemorative, or some special tags require a one-time $25 manufacturing fee plus an additional $35 annual special tag fee. Note that both the special tags and wildlife tags require the payment of a $35 annual fee. When ordering a prestige, or college commemorative tag, be sure to include a copy of the State approval letter and the appropriate fees. Other special tags do not require a letter.
New metal license plates are issued periodically. Renewal decals are issued for the years in between. Georgia law requires renewal year decals be affixed to the lower right-hand corner of the license plate. Registrations must be renewed each year during the vehicle owner’s registration period to avoid a 25% tag fee penalty.
The tag renewal and registration bill is a single part, laser printed bar coded form designed to simplify the handling and processing of your registration. The registration bill will list ad valorem taxes and tag fees due on your vehicle. You are required to complete certain information and affix your signature on the registration form in order to receive a tag or renewal decal. The registration bills are mailed out 45 days prior to the vehicle owner’s birthday (expiration date).
State regulations now require the color of a vehicle be recorded on the registration form. Space is provided for this information on the left side of the registration form. Choose the closest color from this list of colors that matches your vehicle: Beige, Black, Blue, Dark Blue, Light Blue, Bronze, Brown, Chrome, Copper, Cream, Gold, Green/Teal, Dark Green, Light Green, Gray, Lavender, Maroon/Burgundy, Orange, Pink, Purple, Turquoise, Red, Silver, Tan, White, or Yellow.
Fayette County Tax Commissioner is required by law to ensure emissions compliance at the time of the tag sale. The State Department of Natural Resources and its Georgia Clean Air Force have responsibility over the design, implementation, and public awareness aspects of the emissions program.
Georgia vehicle emission inspection and testing presently covers a 13-county region and are required for model year vehicles 1991 and newer. Testing is required annually for all year models except exempt year models. Exempt year models are the last three model years. If a vehicle 1991 model year or newer comes from outside the 13-county region, and emissions test must be performed regardless of the model year to ensure all vehicles entering the region meet the requirements of the Georgia Clean Air Act. When registering your vehicle you must submit a current emissions inspection certificate (if applicable) along with your registration bill, as a prerequisite to receiving a tag or renewal decal. To simplify this, any vehicle more than 3 years old and up to 25 years old requires yearly emission testing prior to renewal.
Vehicles exempt from emission requirements are current year model and last two preceding year model vehicles, vehicles with diesel engines, vehicles with a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 8500 pounds or more, and motorcycles. Out-of-state students and senior citizens may be eligible for extensions or waivers in certain circumstances. Call the Georgia Clean Air Force at 1-800-449-2471 for more information or check with www.cleanairforce.com.
SENIOR CITIZEN EMISSIONS WAIVER: A vehicle that is driven less than 5,000 miles per year, is 10 years old or older, AND is owned by a person 65 years of age or older, may qualify for an exemption. The waiver for this exemption will be processed for approval at the Fayette County Tag Office.
Georgia law requires that all vehicle owners carry at all times minimum liability insurance. A record of your insurance coverage must be electronically transmitted to the Georgia GRATIS data base prior to registration and obtaining a license plate for a vehicle. Motor vehicles may provide a valid binder or declaration page indicating coverage in lieu of electronic transmission. A binder should be dated within the current 30 day period, and a declaration page should be dated within the current 20 day period.
The State requires social security numbers for any resident who receives a handicap veteran, former prisoner of war, medal of honor, national guard, purple heart, military reserve or amateur radio tag.
Military personnel who are claiming residency in other states, and who are in Georgia solely by virtue of military orders, are not subject to Georgia ad valorem taxes, even though they purchase an automobile license tag in Georgia. Qualifications:
If a soldier is TDY and he or she wants their spouse or family member to execute an exemption, he or she must give their spouse or family member a power of attorney authorizing the family member to do so. The spouse or family member must still comply with the requirement for the immediate commanders’ signature.
The vehicle owner/lessee’s date of birth is required when registering a vehicle. Upon initial registration the owner’s birthday is recorded to establish the next registration renewal period of expiration date of the vehicle license plate. If a vehicle is owned by two or more persons, the birthday of the owner whose name appears first on the certificate of title is used for registration.
Vehicles owned by a business are not required to record a date of birth. The expiration date will be established according to the first letter of the business name. Be sure to check the box on the renewal form that indicates a business registration.
For Persons: Registrations expire on the vehicle owner/lessee’s birthday and must be renewed during the 30 day period preceding and ending on the owner/lessee’s birthday.
For Business: Registrations in the name of a business, corporation, or organization expire at the end of the business owner’s designated registration month. Business registrations are staggered by month according to the first letter of the company name as shown on the registration application. Business owned vehicle registrations must be renewed during and no later than the end of the designated renewal month.
Registration renewal applications postmarked after the end of any registration period will accrue a 10% ad valorem tax penalty (with minimum $5), a 25% tag penalty.
Registering by mail offers time and money savings benefits and is strongly recommended. Registrants needing assistance may register in person in our tag office located at 140 W. Stonewall Avenue, Suite 109, Fayetteville, GA 30214.
Payment may be in the form of cash, a Company or Personal Check, Money Order, Certified Funds or by Credit Card (Visa, Master Card, or Discover). A service charge of 2% will be added to any credit/debit transaction, and debited against your credit/debit card account to cover the cost of the third party processing company for completeing the transaction. Checks should be made payable to: Fayette County Tax Commissioner and should have name of registrant, local address (P O Boxes are not acceptable), and bank account number preprinted on the check. Please enter your home and business phone numbers, a driver’s license number, and tag number on the face of your check. We cannot accept starter, counter, third party, payroll, or checks with an out of state, out of county, or P O box address.
A tag renewal can be done online through the Department of Revenue using a credit card or debit card @ https://mvd.dor.ga/tags/index/aspx.
New residents from out of state must register in person at our office within 30 days of establishing residency. The original certificate of title from out of state will be required. The owner listed on the face of the original title must be present. If the title lists multiple owners, all owners must be present, or those owners who cannot be present must provide an original notarized Power-of-Attorney. The Power-of-Attorney must include the year, make, model and vehicle identification number of the vehicle being registered. The current registration from the former state will also be requested along with the current mileage of the vehicle. A valid Georgia insurance carrier must have provided the GRATIS database with minimum liability insurance coverage prior to registration. A valid binder or declaration page from the insurance policy can be used at initial registration, and either must indicate minimum liability coverage, the vehicle VIN and dates of coverage. A Georgia Emissions Certificate will also be required. If the title is being held by a lien holder, the loan agreement, showing the owner or owners of the vehicle, a complete description of the vehicle and the name and mailing address of the lien-holder must be presented. If the vehicle is leased, the lessee must have the lease agreement showing a complete description of the vehicle and the complete name and address of the lessor. Also, an original notarized Power-0f-Attorney from the lessor is required to be completed. New residents entering the state of Georgia will be required to pay TAVT (Title Ad Valorem Tax) at the time of initial registration. Documentation will be required to show proof of when residency was established in Georgia. The title tax is 7% of the fair market value at the time of registration. You may pay half of the amount due at the time of initial registration with the remaining balance paid by one year of the registration date. Titles will not be released by the state until the TAVT is paid in full.
Acceptable documents are:
New residents moving into Fayette county from within the state of Georgia should come to the tag office to update their record with their new address. Residents moving to Fayette County from out of state must title and register their motor vehicles within 30 days after moving to Fayette county. Your insurance carrier must have provided the GRATIS database with minimum liability insurance coverage prior to registration. A valid binder or declaration page from the insurance policy can be used at initial registration, and either must indicate minimum liability coverage, the vehicle VIN and dates of coverage.
You should bring documentation indicating your current Fayette County address, such as utility bill, drivers license, etc.
Emissions testing will be required on the first and subsequent renewals on all vehicles not exempt from testing.
Georgia residents with newly acquired vehicles must register within 30 days of vehicle purchase. New vehicle owners must apply for a title prior to or at the time of registration. Registration must be made in person at our tag office. If an owner is unable to appear in person, an original notarized Power-of-Attorney for that person must be presented at the time of registration. The Power-of-Attorney must include the year, make, model and vehicle identification number of the vehicle.
If a bank, credit union, or other lender has applied for the title, the application for title must be received and verified by the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles. This applies to vehicles purchased or leased. If you have leased a vehicle, you must provide the lease agreement at the time of registration.
If you have possession of the title and wish to make application, please read over your title completely before signing. Titles differ from state to state, with some requiring signatures on the front, while others require that you complete the back. Make sure all areas on the original title are completed, recording the buyer name, the seller name, both signatures, the date of sale and current odometer reading. Do not use whiteout, or cross through an error on the back of the title. A notarized affidavit of correction will need to be completed which must accompany the title, and MV1 form if correction to a title must be made. These forms are available at our office. Please note both seller and buyer may need to complete an affidavit of correction, depending on the error.
If the vehicle is purchased from an automobile dealer, the dealer assignment section must be completed with registered dealers name, dealers master tag number and date of sale. Latest registration information of the vehicle will be required. Proof of insurance and emissions will be required.
If your vehicle was purchased from another individual, you may drive your non-tagged vehicle for 7 days without penalty, but you must register within 30 days or purchase.
License plates are the personal property of the vehicle owner. During a change of ownership, license plates should be removed from the vehicle and retained by the seller. This will allow the seller to transfer the tag to a newly acquired vehicle.
If you wish to have your name changed on your registration due to marriage or divorce, you must first apply for a new title. A name change requires that you appear in person with your original certificate of title and supporting certified legal documents (i.e., certified copy of the marriage certificate or divorce decree). In case of divorce, the divorce decree must give the Year and Make of the vehicle. If a vehicle is financed, only the security lien holder can change the name.
When there is a probated will, the applicant must provide the title in the deceased party’s name, if available, along with a certified copy of the Probated Will, or Letter of Testamentary, or permanent Letters of Administration, or Years’ Support that gives a complete description of the vehicle.
Also required are, current validated registration, an original Georgia emission certificate and proof of Georgia Liability insurance on the vehicle.
Handicapped person parking permits are issued in this office.
For a temporary or permanent handicapped permit, you must have a signed and notarized letter from your physician, indicating your current medical limitations.
In Fayette County the tests for driver's licenses are given Tuesday through Friday at 278 McElroy Road, Fayetteville from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., or on Saturdays from 8 – 12 noon. Applicants need to be at this location for testing by 4:00 p.m. due to the large volume of applicants. The telephone number is 678-413-8400 or 1-800-754-3687. For more information, check www.dds.ga.gov.
The Georgia State Patrol will answer questions at 678-413-8400. It is important that you listen to the tape in its entirety.